SD Sealants lines image

S&D Sponsor Stars at Welsh Cycling Awards

13th October 2013

The 2013 USN Welsh Cycling Awards on Friday 4 October had a new sponsor this year, as Chepstow-based S&D Sealants came on board to help celebrate the champions and unsung heroes of cycling from across the country.

As a keen cyclist, Director Nick Jones jumped at the chance to get involved in this prestigious event and arranged for S&D to sponsor the hotly contested ‘Club of the Year’ category.

The nominees in the running for ‘Club of the Year’ were the Towy Riders Cycle Club, the Abergavenny Road Club and youth club Sosban Riders, but it was Abergavenny who emerged victorious.

Nominees, judges and all manner of cycling enthusiasts gathered at Cardiff’s De Vere Village Hotel for a champagne reception and three-course meal, before the winners were announced and live entertainment kicked off the celebrations.

Speaking about the Welsh Cycling Awards, Nick said: “I had a brilliant night; it was a fun way to support my fellow cyclists, and encourage others to get on their bikes.

“We’re a nation with many cycling stories to tell – from amazing moments in history like the races of Arthur Linton and his brothers, to the successes of present day champions like Nicole Cooke MBE.

“I can’t believe I’ve now had dinner with Wales’ sporting elite – rubbing shoulders with double Olympic champion Geraint Thomas and world-class cyclist Becky James, who were both honoured at the awards!”

Judging the proceedings were Director of British Cycling Colin Docker, Senior Officer at Sport Wales Ann Bevan, and Sports Correspondent for Media Wales Gareth Griffiths.

As well as the Club of the Year, there were awards for 2013’s best Club Cylist, Elite Cyclist, Paracyclist, Coach, Individual Race Organiser, Cycling Innovator, Unsung Hero, Outstanding Performer, Junior Performer and Services to Commissairing.

A Lifetime Contribution Award was also presented to Bill Owen for his lifelong commitment to organising and promoting cycling events in Wales, and the Wiggle Project 2018 Champions received their prizes as part of the celebrations.


Found this article interesting? Share online.